God is not mad at you

I think that if we could just for a second understand the pure love God has for us we would be changed forever. Growing up I got the idea that if Christianity was a company the words “God loves you” would probably be the slogan. Then again the Bible does say on a couple of occasions that God is love, so it probably wouldn’t be a bad fit. Strangely enough I separated God from His love when I would think about how He operates. Of course I know God is big, but His love couldn’t be that big also, could it?

I gave my heart to Jesus at quite a young age, I think I was 12 years old or something, but for the vast majority of my life as a Christian my idea of God was that He is looking down at me watching my every move and if I slip up I would make Him angry and disappointed. I thought I existed to make God happy and that I should try my very best to not sin and that if I do sin I should ask at least 3 times for Him to forgive me otherwise my prayers just weren’t sincere enough. I believed I needed to pursue and beg for His forgiveness.

I thought the relationship God wants with us is like that between a master and his slave, which never seems to be good enough. Whenever I sinned I felt so guilty and that I needed to give God a day or two to deal with my sin and if I did something really bad He got fed up with me and left me to fend for myself. Like if I did something wrong just before a soccer match or an exam for example, I believed that I wouldn’t do well as a sign of His anger at me.

But then God slowly showed me His love and how unconditional it is. Picture Jesus carrying His cross up Golgotha, He was actually thinking of each one of us as He headed to the place of His death. He thought about every sin you will every commit, the small, the big, the sin you consciously commit and the sin you unconsciously commit. The sin you never thought you would ever commit because you’re not “that sinful” right. He thought about it all yet still went to the cross and said Father let your will be done. God the Father sent Jesus to earth with the purpose of becoming our sin and paying the price for us.

Not just that, God took all the anger and disappointment and sadness that all our sin could ever cause Him and took it out on His own Son, Jesus. Jesus didn’t just take away our sin, He took away the wrath of God that was meant for us.

Yet it was our weaknesses he carried; it was our sorrows that weighed him down. And we thought his troubles were a punishment from God, a punishment for his own sins! But he was pierced for our rebellion, crushed for our sins. He was beaten so we could be whole. He was whipped so we could be healed. All of us, like sheep, have strayed away. We have left God’s paths to follow our own. Yet the LORD laid on him the sins of us all. He was oppressed and treated harshly, yet he never said a word. He was led like a lamb to the slaughter. And as a sheep is silent before the shearers, he did not open his mouth. (‭Isaiah‬ ‭53‬:‭4-7‬ NLT)

For God made Christ, who never sinned, to be the offering for our sin, so that we could be made right with God through Christ. (‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭5‬:‭21‬ NLT)

God doesn’t have any anger left to feel towards you. He already dealt with sin 2000 years ago, we should stop making such a big deal about something God declared outdated 20 centuries ago. Sin has been overcome. What did you think Jesus meant when He uttered the words “it is finished?” The negative impact sin would’ve had, God equals with His grace. We have been set free of sin.

If you only swear once a day, God loves you. And if you swear 200 times a day, and you consider it a good day, then God still loves you and equally at that! I have found that sin have become a greater issue than what Jesus is recognized to be the solution. If our goal is to get as far away from sin, rather than as close as possible to God then we won’t be very successful. It’s in realizing that all we need is Jesus that we find the strength and desire to move away from our sin.

Knowing God is actually smiling at me every second of every day and telling me He loves me took me quite a while to believe. I’m still sometimes in awe about it, because I’m so unworthy of His love. But lets embrace it and live it out. Lets accept God’s mind-blowing love for us and love others with the same love that He has placed inside of us. Don’t look at the other person’s sin. Jesus also took their sin away, our job is to love. Love God and love others. No matter what work you do. No matter what race they are. No matter if they are gay or has tattoos or smokes or don’t go to church or don’t believe in Jesus.

God never said love if… He just said love.

We know how much God loves us, and we have put our trust in his love. God is love, and all who live in love live in God, and God lives in them. (‭1 John‬ ‭4‬:‭16‬ NLT)

8 thoughts on “God is not mad at you

  1. Nice article. I hope to know more of God’s love for me since I am still getting to know him. I thought that on judgement day those unsaved ppl go to hell that is their condemnation, not get the wrath of God would be on them. Please clarify if you know. Thx.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey man!.. Thanx for the comment! I didn’t realize I was insinuating that the wrath of God is still waiting on the unsaved on judgement day. The purpose of the article was to convey the reality that as Christians we don’t have to sort of hide from God when we sin, almost like Adam and Eve did. Like I said in the article I used to feel as if God was angry and disappointed at me when I sin, but He showed me that that isn’t the case. 

    In Jonah 1:1-2 we read about God commanding Jonah to go to the city of Nineveh to confront the people there, telling them to stop with their sin, because God was going to hold them accountable for their sin and destroy them, but in His mercy He did not.

    In Genesis 4 we read about God’s punishment for Cain for the murder of his brother, Abel. 

    In Genesis 6:13 we read about how God had decided to destroy every living creature because of sin. So God said to Noah, “I have decided to destroy all living creatures, for they have filled the earth with violence. Yes, I will wipe them all out along with the earth! (‭Genesis‬ ‭6‬:‭13‬ NLT)

    In Genesis 19 we read a similar response from God where He sent His angels to destroy the city of Sodom and Gomorrah, because of the evilness and sin that was practised there. “For we are about to destroy this city completely. The outcry against this place is so great it has reached the LORD, and he has sent us to destroy it.” (‭Genesis‬ ‭19‬:‭13‬ NLT)

    In all these stories we see the nature of God. How He hates the sin within man and sort of feels compelled to punish man for it. But now living after the death and resurrection of Jesus we don’t have to fear a punishment for our sins. Not if we believe in Jesus and what He did of cource. 

    See the thing is we messed up. We sin and even our good deeds are described as filthy rags in the Bible and we can’t offer God something that is good enough to justify our sin and make us righteous. But God decided for us, because He loves the man more than the sin within man, by presenting His own Son as the sacrifice for our sin (Romans 3:25).

    So those who believe in Jesus are set free from sin and the wrath of God. God looks at us through Jesus making us a pure image. But the unsaved who don’t believe in Jesus still has to pay for their sins. The hatred God has towards the sin within the unsaved sinner still exists. For we are made righteous only through faith in Jesus. The unsaved will eventually have to pay for the wages of their sins in hell. So their condemnation surely is hell, but this is how God satisfies His wrath at their sin. So it sort of coexists, the punishment in hell can be seen as God’s wrath against the sin of the unsaved.
    The saved still sin, but they recognize that they need a saviour.

    Therefor there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.(Romans 8:1)

    But obviously the gift of salvation is free for all. The door for the unsaved to get saved is always open. They just have to believe 🙂

    Hope this answers your question:)
    Be Blessed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Michael for your long explanation, greatly appreciated. What I got from your article was God loves us by sending Jesus die for us and providing salvation for us. 🙂 It was just that phrase God’s wrath that was on my mind earlier which caught my eye when I read your article…that I thought to ask you about it. So, God’s wrath = going to hell for the unsaved. Thx for clarifying.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s such a pleasure, anytime! 🙂

    Yes, and the wrath is against the sin within the unsaved, not the unsaved self. Both saved and unsaved sin, but Jesus took the sin of the saved away 🙂
    Thought I’d just give that an extra clarification. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thx! For me, I thought God was good and Satan was evil. l did not know of God’s wrath. l had assumed that unsaved people just went 17 hell. That was how I saw it…Anyways, l am still just trying to understand and to know God.

    Like

Leave a Reply

