His Love and Grace are Real

For me one of the greatest proof that God’s love and grace is real is the fact that I am still on earth. If I were God I would’ve given up on me years ago. The amount of times that I have consciously disobeyed God is so many and I know more than anyone that God has a specific plan for my life on earth and He has a purpose with my existence just as He has with everyone. So often I have experienced the joy and absolute peace and happiness of following His plan for me, but then at times I would choose to ignore God and place spending time with Him way at the bottom of my list; the part which I often don’t get to. I’ll create such a distance between me and God even though I know the Holy Spirit is pulling me with great strength back to God.

Selfish in my ignorance at times I just looked the Holy Spirit in the eye and then continued to walk away from God. Like the prodigal son I cared about present pleasures and momentary significance. But even on the course to destruction and heading for the wages of sin which I am consciously aware of there is this constant and undeniable resistance to my waywardness.

As I fall in disobedience and seek after the things of this world I can still feel His love calling me back to follow Him. I sincerely don’t know why though. God sent Jesus to earth to die for us, but why? Why would he send His only Son? Because He loves us yes, but why does He love us? It’s not like we are these impressive, special edition beings and should be honored and valued. On the contrary, we are frail and fragile. Having the potential to sin at any moment and so often we do. So why does God love us so much then? It’s not that He can benefit from it. God is not going to add to Himself by loving us, He is complete and lacking nothing. So the question still is, that if God is not going to gain anything from loving us, why does He love us then?

I honestly believe that He wants to love us. I believe that God is obsessed about us and He so badly wants to have a relationship with us. No structured religion where rituals and traditions are the outline of the day. No cleaning yourself and getting everything in order to be acceptable in His eyes, but just coming to Him as you are. I believe He loves us, because He is love and loving us is who He is. Even writing this it is still hard to fathom and grasp His love. His love is so difficult for us to understand, because it doesn’t demand or require a standard. He doesn’t love us if… He loves us period. It is freely offered to all and everyone can experience His love. It is created for all. God doesn’t need us, yet wants us. He cannot gain anything from loving us, yet still loves us. I don’t think I’ll ever understand His love, but it has changed my life forever and especially because He loves me even though I am so unworthy of His love, that I live to follow Him and the journey is amazing and following Him is my purpose in this world.

“There is a moral law in life that men are left to the consequences of their own freely chosen course of action, and unless this tendency is reversed by divine grace, their situation will go from bad to worse.”

It’s just amazing to me, how we follow things in our ignorance seeking temporary pleasures, yet still there is this amazing grace of God that is so patient with us and never runs dry. As we travel the road most traveled to indulge in worldly things which is heading to destruction, the grace of God pulls us back to Him, but also is patient enough to wait until we realize that we need to turn back.

We know how much God loves us, and we have put our trust in his love. God is love, and all who live in love live in God, and God lives in them. (‭1 John‬ ‭4‬:‭16‬ NLT)

Leave a Reply

